Fun in the Son!

Renewing mindsets, changing lives. One person at a time.

On the Topic of Giving.

Hello my beloved(s),

Isn’t Steph’s sharing an absolute blast? I was reminded of a reading I came across recently that challenged me to think about what was it exactly that I am seeking. Is it God? Or is it what God can give me? And don’t we all fall into this trap sometimes? We come before Him, and start rattling off all the requests in our mental lists and end off our “quiet time” session without even waiting for God to sneak a word in. In the area of our ministry as well, don’t we sometimes allow the things that we do eclipse the one that we are supposedly doing it for?

Let’s stop. Ponder. Re-evaluate.

Our God is a good God who wants to give us all that we need. But before He can do that, we are required to give Him all that we have.

I think, the mark of growth would surely be the decrease of “I” and the increase of “Him” in our lives. Paul said this in Galatians 20:

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.”

For the longest time, I’ve read this line and it’s always merely been a reminder that I am not my own anymore. I am no longer the broken, miserable creature I was before He found me, because now I am a new creation in Him. While this still holds true but the verse revealed itself in a different light to me the other day as I thought about it more.

It says “I” have been crucified and “I” no longer live. And suddenly it dawned on me that as a follower of Christ, it really really isn’t about me, myself and “I” anymore. “I” have died and now Christ lives in me. And I thought about all the times I came before God and told Him about all the things “I” want… all the things “I” was upset about… and it struck me that I’ve really missed the point of it all, haven’t I?

And thus, it is my resolve that “complete surrender” no longer remain as words to a worship song, but that they will be manifested through my lifestyle. More of Him and less of “I”.

Of course, some of you will read this and think about how hard it is to be a Christian. But can I just add that these resolves do not occur instantly? It is only when I got to know Him more and fell deeper in love with Him that I willingly chose to make these decisions. Obviously there will be times of regression i.e. I get naughty and disobey or rebel but I think, this walk is a good walk to be on. This relationship with Him is something that is worth everything I have. So relax people, all I am asking is that you will seek Him. Because what you will find is greater than anything you can ever imagine.

Alright, be blessed. Let’s not give up the habit of keeping each other in prayer yea?

Love you all,

Jamie.

No comments yet»

Leave a comment